European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology (ESMTB)

The European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology (ESMTB) was founded in 1991 during the first European Conference on Mathematics Applied to Biology and Medicine in l'Alpes d'Huez, France. The mission of the ESMTB is to promote theoretical approaches and mathematical tools in biology and medicine in a European and wider context. This goal is pursued by the organization and support of summer schools and conferences, highlighting the ECMTB, by the European Communications, the information on our website, and the distribution of announcements. ESMTB annually honours the best PhD theses in the field of mathematical and theoretical biology with the Reinhart Heinrich Doctoral Thesis Award and the Ovide Arino Award.

ESMTB is a nonprofit organisation, and is a member society of EMS and ICIAM. The ESMTB board organizes the activities of the society according to the ESMTB statutes.

You can read more about the benefits of becoming a member, and become a member of the ESMTB here.

The current (2021-2023) board members are:

Ellen Baake (president) ebaake@techfak.uni-bielefeld.de
José A. Carillo (vice president) carrillo@maths.ox.ac.uk
Bob Planqué (treasurer) r.planque@vu.nl
Silvia Cuadrado (secretary) silvia@mat.uab.cat
Luděk Berec berec@entu.cas.cz
Tom Britton tomb@math.su.se

Elisenda Feliu

efeliu@math.ku.dk

Tommaso Lorenzi 

tommaso.lorenzi@polito.it

Benoit Perthame benoit.perthame@upmc.fr
Angélique Stéphanou angelique.stephanou@univ-grenoble-alpes.fr

Ellen, Bob, Luděk and Silvia will end their term on the board by Dec 31, 2023. 
José, Tom, Elisenda, Tommaso, Benoit and Angélique will stay on until Dec 31, 2026.

Statutes (since summer 2022)

French version (original)

English version (translation from french)




Copyright © 2019 ESMTB - European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology. All Rights Reserved

Read our Privacy Policy | Contact ESMTB at info@esmtb.org | Website maintained by Bob Planqué and Elisenda Feliu

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software