European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology (ESMTB)

The European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology (ESMTB) was founded in 1991 during the first European Conference on Mathematics Applied to Biology and Medicine in l'Alpes d'Huez, France. The mission of the ESMTB is to promote theoretical approaches and mathematical tools in biology and medicine in a European and wider context. This goal is pursued by the organization and support of summer schools and conferences, highlighting the ECMTB, by the European Communications, the information on our website, and the distribution of announcements. ESMTB annually honours the best PhD theses in the field of mathematical and theoretical biology with the Reinhart Heinrich Doctoral Thesis Award and the Ovide Arino Award.

ESMTB is a nonprofit organisation, and is a member society of EMS and ICIAM. The ESMTB board organizes the activities of the society according to the ESMTB statutes.

    You can read more about the benefits of becoming a member, and become a member of the ESMTB here.

    The current (2024-2026) board members are:

    Benoît Perthame (president)
    Víctor Pérez (vicepresident)
    Angélique Stéphanou (treasurer)
    Zuzanna Szymańska (secretary)
    Tom Britton
    José A. Carillo

    Elisenda Feliu

    Tommaso Lorenzi

    Ezio Venturino

    Angélique, Benoit, Elisenda, José, Tom, and Tommaso will end their term on the board by Dec 31, 2026. 
    Ezio, Marie, Víctor, and Zuzanna will stay on until Dec 31, 2029.

    Statutes (since summer 2022)

    French version (original)

    English version (translation from french)

    Copyright © 2024 ESMTB - European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology. All Rights Reserved

    Read our Privacy Policy | Contact ESMTB at | Website created by Bob Planqué. Currently maintained by Elisenda Feliu

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software