Reinhart Heinrich Award Committee Working Procedures

ESMTB board procedure
The prize committee should consist of 3-5 members, including a chairman and a representative from the ESMTB board (which may or may not be the same person). The committee is decided by the ESMTB board each year, and typically members are port of the committee for up to 4 years.

The board should ensure that information about the prize is announced efficiently in the news channels to encourage many nominations.

Committee Procedure: Each year, nominations are sent to the Chair by March 31st. The Chair checks for eligibility and then, after the closing date, sends the nominations out to the committee and requests they score them by Apr 7th. For the shortlisted nominations (typically 4-5), the Chair requests the full theses and these are sent out to the rest of the committee members by Apr 14th.  The panel is asked to score the theses by May 7th. The committee decides who the winner is and might give a special mention to an additional candidate. All nominees are thanked and informed after that by personal mails.

If the level of the candidate theses is not considered sufficiently high, the committee may choose not to announce a winner or runner-up.

At each ECMTB, the Reinhart Heinrich awards of the previous years are officially handed over and the awardees are invited to give plenary talks on the content of their theses. The number of awards equals the years passed since the previous ECMTB.

In the event of conflict of interest (for example, a nominee from the university of a committee member), the conflicted person does not score the thesis and it is up to the chair to decide how to account for this. If a committee member nominates a candidate, the member steps down from the committee temporarily and is replaced with the designated member from the board of ESMTB. In the unlikely event that there are more than one of the original committee members who nominate a candidate, the designated board member will recruit additional substitutes from the board.

Copyright © 2024 ESMTB - European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology. All Rights Reserved

Read our Privacy Policy | Contact ESMTB at | Website created by Bob Planqué. Currently maintained by Elisenda Feliu

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software